Thanksgiving Thursday

Happy-New-Year-2013-Pic

With a simple, nondescript tick of the clock, 2013 began at midnight, January 1st. Whatever resolutions that were set for 2012 are over, whether they were kept or broken. But the possibilities for success in a new year shine bright. And I, like many others, have set goals 2013. The inspiration for my four-part goal is found in the beginning chapters of the book of Daniel.

The king of Babylon, Nebuchadnezzar, had built a gold statue that was 90 feet high and nine feet wide, and demanded that people were to bow and worship the golden idol when they heard the sound of every kind of music. But three young Jewish boys, Shadrach, Meschach, and Abednego, refused to bow.

Nebuchadnezzar had them brought before him. “Now when you hear the sound of…all kinds of music, if you are ready to fall down and worship the image I made, very good. But if you do not worship it, you will be thrown immediately into a blazing furnace. Then what god will be able to rescue you from my hand?

Daniel-3.18

 

Part one: In all I say and do, I will bow my heart before only one God. If I am thrown into the blazing furnace, He is able to save me from it. But even if He doesn’t, still will I obey Him.

Then Nebuchadnezzar was furious…he ordered the furnace heated seven times hotter than usual and commanded some of the strongest soldiers in his army to tie up [the three men] and throw them into the blazing furnace…”

Part two: As I stand in obedience, I will proclaim the truth. The Gospel will forever be on my lips, and speaking the truth in love will be my mission.

Then King Nebuchadnezzar leaped to his feet in amazement and asked in advisers, ‘Weren’t there three men that we tied up and threw into the fire?’ They replied, ‘Certainly, O king.’ 

 

fire-daniel-3-25_595

 

Then Nebuchadnezzar said, ‘Praise be to the God of Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego, who has sent his angel and rescued his servants! They trusted in him and defied the king’s command and were willing to give up their lives rather than serve or worship any god except their own God.’”

Part three: I will look for Him in the fire. If He calls me into the furnace, He will not withdraw His hand. I will find His face in the flames and commune with Him.

King Nebuchadnezzar said, ‘To the peoples, nations, and men of every language, who live in all the world: May you prosper greatly! It is my pleasure to tell you about the signs and wonders that the Most High God has performed for me. How great are his signs, how mighty are his wonders! His kingdom is an eternal kingdom; his dominion endures from generation to generation.’”

Part four: I will offer praise and thanksgiving always. It is my pleasure to tell you about the signs and wonders that the Most High God has performed for me!

 

Light Shine in New Year

 

 

My Thanksgiving List 1/3/13

 

694. Clinking champagne crystals at midnight with friends and family

DSC01745-1

 

692. That my husband peeks at my game of Solitaire and tells me what I missed. (OK,so maybe I’m just thankful for the reminder that, even when playing a game for one, I am not lonely. 😉 )

 

686. The truth of El Roi: God. Sees. ME!

 

702. Getting all of the Christmas things put away

 

685. The life a new kitty brings to the house

DSC01703

 

679. The way toast smells just out of the toaster

 

682. Even a child is known by his actions, and I am blessed beyond measure that a store clerk recognizes Peanut as The “HI!” Girl!

 

683. A beautiful winter hike with family

DSC01722

 

681. Enjoying pizza slices at Sam’s

 

643. God’s grace that allows me to give grace to others

 

695. A New Year’s midnight kiss from the Love of my Life

DSC01752-1

 

 

Please tell me, what gifts have you unwrapped this week?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Photo Credit

Photo Credit

Leave a comment